Loading...

16 milyon için çalışıyoruz görsel
tam yol ileri görsel

TAKSİM MEYDAN

Taksim Square is among the most well-known centers of the world-famous city of İstanbul. The square takes its name from the historical stone reservoir, which is located right behind the Monument of the Republic. During the Ottoman era, a reservoir was procured at the area, which is referred as Taksim Square today, in order to distribute water to nearby neighborhoods. The water, stored there, was distributed to the nearby neighborhoods, and todistribute means taksim etmek in Turkish. In time, people started to refer it as Taksim Reservoir, and the area as “Taksim”. The neighborhood, which was a narrow area occupied by old houses, was expanded in the year 1928, during which the Monument of the Republic was erected, and was made a square.

The Monument of The Republic, which has become the symbol of the Taksim Square, was built by Italian sculptor Pietro Canonica. The monument, which was made in 2,5 years, of stone and bronze, was unveiled in the year 1928. The monument, erected in the middle of a round square and which is 11 meters high, has two sides with bronze figures, and used traditional architecture. Pink Tarantino marblesand green Suza marbles were used in the pedestal of the monument, one face of which symbolizes the Republic Turkey and the other, the War of Independence. The round base on which the Monument of the Republic is erected, became a part of the İstiklal Avenue passenger road, after the 1988 Taksim, Tarlabaşı and Şişhane demolitions.

Taksim Meydanı, which is also aculture, entertainment and a fairly important shopping center, along with its surroundings, accommodates today numerous stores, movie houses and theaters, art workshops, exhibition hills and entertainment places. The Square and the Monument of the Republic, alongside being a ceremony area during national holidays, continues to be the meeting point of those visiting İstiklal Avenue and its surroundings to spend time.

İSTANBUL'UN
DİJİTAL SEYİR TERASI